Guide · Comparison
Teleoperation service providers compared (2026): managed operators, data labs and software
Who will run your robot remotely, who will collect demonstrations for you, and who only sells the tools. Checked against each provider’s own pages on October 26, 2026.
Updated
Quick answer: if you want a dedicated team of trained remote operators on your own robot (arms, humanoids or drones), with every session delivered as training data in LeRobot, RLDS or HDF5, that is what RoboPilots does. If you want something else, another provider below is a better fit, and we say which.
Disclosure: RoboPilots wrote this page and sells one of the services compared. We list ourselves first only for the need we are built for. Every other entry is taken from that provider’s own website, quoted or paraphrased, and dated. If something here is wrong or out of date, write to partners@robopilots.ai and we will correct it.
The short answer, by what you need
Trained remote operators on your own robot, plus the data
Low-cost monitoring and tele-assistance for a deployed service-robot fleet
A fixed-price pilot dataset collected in someone else’s lab
Human demonstration video at volume (egocentric, not robot state)
Cheap remote demos on a LeRobot-class hobby arm
Software only, with your own operators
Hardware to collect your own data
All seventeen at a glance
| Provider | What they sell | Robots (as stated) | Formats stated | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RoboPilots | Managed remote operators trained on your robot | Arms, humanoids, drones, vehicles | LeRobot, RLDS, HDF5; MCAP or ROS 2 bags for vehicles | Quoted per deployment; one-week trial |
| OBI Services | Managed operators (outsourcing, Philippines) | Delivery, security, cleaning, warehouse, hospital and retail robots | Not stated | From USD 4.95/hour at large volume |
| FS Studio | Managed operator crews and data collection | Customer-provided robots; UMI grippers | “Your formats” | Not published |
| Scale AI | Data collection in its own cells and on your hardware | Bimanual manipulators; customer hardware | Not stated | Not published |
| Encord | Lab and in-field data collection with annotation | Leader-follower rigs; your robot; UMI grippers | Not stated (into Encord’s platform) | Not stated |
| Cogito Tech | Expert teleoperation inside an annotation company | Industrial, mobile, VR-humanoid systems | Not stated | Not stated |
| Robotics Center | Data collection in its own lab, plus hardware | OpenArm, UR3e/UR5e, Unitree G1, xArm, Kinova Gen3 | HDF5, RLDS, LeRobot | $2,500 pilot (20 demos); $8,000 (100 demos) |
| Humaid | Arm teleoperation data collection | Single and dual-arm robots | MCAP, JSON, video overlays | Not stated |
| AuraOne | Human data programs, including teleoperation | Your robot; phone and wearable capture | MP4/MOV; JSON/JSONL; contracted export | “No rate card” |
| Claru | Human demonstration video network | Mainly human demonstrations | Image sequences with metadata | Not published |
| DataX Power | Managed video data collection (Southeast Asia) | Humanoid manipulation, AMR, surgical (video) | “Your preferred format” | Not published |
| PrismaX | Teleoperation data marketplace and on-demand collection | Robot arms and humanoids | JSON via browser or API | Enterprise by contract |
| AY-Robots | Remote operators on LeRobot-class arms | SO-100-class arms | LeRobot | €49.99 or €299.99/month; operators from €6/hour |
| Extend Robotics | VR teleoperation software | ROS robots, cobot arms, humanoids | ROS bag, HDF5, LeRobot | Not stated |
| Formant | Fleet operations software | Multi-vendor fleets | Not stated | Not stated |
| InOrbit | Robot operations software | AMR and multi-vendor fleets | Not stated | Not found |
| Trossen Robotics | Hardware and data-collection kits | WidowX arms, mobile manipulators, ALOHA | LeRobot V2 (SDK export) | Hardware prices; cloud pricing not final |
Managed operators: someone else runs your robot
These providers supply the people. The questions that separate them are where the operators sit, who trains them on your robot, and whether every session comes back as data you can train on.
RoboPilots
OBI Services
FS Studio
Scale AI
Encord
Cogito Tech
Data collection labs and networks: they collect, you train
Robotics Center of Silicon Valley
Humaid
AuraOne, Claru and DataX Power
PrismaX and AY-Robots
Software and hardware: you bring the operators
Formant
InOrbit
Extend Robotics
Trossen Robotics
What none of the others list: drones and BVLOS
None of the other providers reviewed list remote pilots for docked drones or beyond-visual-line-of-sight operations. Cogito names agricultural and underwater drones as use cases only. RoboPilots supplies remote pilots who supervise several aircraft and take over for takeoff, drop-off and exceptions. See drone teleoperation, model by model.
How we compared
Own pages only
Published prices only
“Not stated” is not “no”
Left out
Several other “best teleoperation providers” lists exist, and most were written by one of the providers they rank, including this one. Before you sign with anyone, run the 12 questions for choosing a teleoperation provider and a paid trial on your own robot.
Frequently asked questions
- What is a teleoperation service provider?
- A company that supplies the people, the tools or both to control robots remotely. Managed providers staff trained operators on your robot; data labs collect demonstrations for you; software vendors sell the stack and leave staffing to you.
- Which teleoperation providers publish prices?
- Of the 16 other providers reviewed on October 26, 2026, three: OBI Services (from USD 4.95 an hour at large volume), Robotics Center of Silicon Valley ($2,500 for 20 demonstrations, $8,000 for 100) and AY-Robots (€49.99 or €299.99 a month, operators from €6 an hour). The rest quote per project.
- Which providers deliver data in LeRobot format?
- Among those that state formats: RoboPilots (LeRobot, RLDS, HDF5), Robotics Center of Silicon Valley (HDF5, RLDS, LeRobot), Extend Robotics (ROS bag, HDF5, LeRobot), Trossen Robotics (LeRobot V2 via its SDK) and AY-Robots (LeRobot).
- Can a provider operate my own robot instead of theirs?
- Yes. RoboPilots, FS Studio, Scale AI, Encord and AuraOne all describe operating the customer’s robot. Robotics Center can collect on a robot you ship if it is ROS 2-compatible. Lab-based offers otherwise use their own hardware.
- Is this list biased?
- RoboPilots wrote it and sells one of the services, so read it that way. We put ourselves first only for managed operators on your own robot, sourced every other entry from the provider’s own site, and say where others fit better.